RSS Feed

Review: Moonrise Kingdom (2012)

Posted on

I have finally seen a Wes Anderson movie in a theater. I might have been late to the game, but no doubt my Anderson fandom is still going steady. Let the yellow text roll….

Moonrise Kingdom is the young love story of twelve year-old’s Sam (Jared Gilman) and Suzy (Kara Hayward). In a effort to run away together, Sam abandons his Khaki Scout troop and Suzy leaves her family to trek the wilderness. The small island is soon tossed into a frenzy with Suzy’s parents (Frances McDormand and Bill Murray), the island police officer (played by Bruce Willis), and Sam’s scout master (Edward Norton) all trying to find the pair of young lovers. A historic storm is on the way as well, and only makes matters worse.

Besides from the Anderson usual’s, Murray and Jason Schwartzman, this is by far the most diversely acted movie in Wes Anderson’s filmography. But make no doubt this is typical Wes. The attention to detail, quirky dialogue, and overhead shots are all on display in Moonrise. As a Wes Anderson fan myself, it’s hard to judge this film subjectively. I will say it is not his finest work, but it was entertaining. It has some purposely awkward moments, and Sam Shakusky has nothing on Rushmore’s Max Fischer, but it has some standout moments. Anderson’s retro look plays perfectly into the 1960’s time frame, and gets a rare non action hero performance by Bruce Willis. I can’t say it is my favorite, and I’m sure multiple viewings will only raise my opinion, but on first shot, I can say good not great.

My Rating: B+

One response »

  1. Pingback: New Year Optimism « Weekday Matinee

Leave a Reply

