RSS Feed

Ranks: Favorite Christmas Movies

We all have our favorite Christmas movie. Some tend to go to the classics, some to the animated, others to the comedies. So, while my list of favorites might not be your list, feel free to share your own in the comments!

10. Miracle on 34th Street

I have yet to see the original 1947 version, this ’94 movie was based off of. But even though the newer version is probably a lesser movie, I always had a soft spot for this one. 90’s staple Mara Wilson does the perfect job of showing the change from cynic to believer, all while making us believe for ourselves. The story maybe a tad gimmicky, but what Christmas movie isn’t?

9. Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town

This is Christmas TV at its finest. This is what I think of for holiday entertainment. While Beiber did his best to desecrate it, Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town, is still my favorite of all of TV specials (sorry Rudolf, Baby New Year, and Frosty). If I were to want to know what Santa sounds like, I would go straight to Mickey Rooney. No superhero can match this origin story.

8. Edward Scissorhands

While it isn’t exactly a “Christmas movie” per se, it is the tale of how a town got its first snow. Say whatever you want about this choice, but I will mention this movie however many times as possible due to my love for it. Like any good movie, it completely surrounds you in its world. Classic Burton + Depp + Elfman.

7. Home Alone 2

The original Home Alone is probably a better movie, but for some reason I think of the sequel when Christmastime comes around. Maybe it’s the toy store owner and the turtle doves, or the crazy bird lady, but the deuce is the more Christmas-y one. Anyway, who doesn’t love to see a kid come close to murdering two burglars?

6. The Santa Clause

No one can tell me otherwise that The Santa Clause 3 was horrendous. The Santa Clause 2 was okay. But that first one, had the premise and a star to make it a non-quite classic, but great Christmas movie nonetheless. Tim Allen is probably at his comedic peak right here, so take a trip back before Last Man Standing.

5. The Polar Express

The latest addition to this list was destined to become a Christmas staple from its release. Although some still are not a big fan of the style of animation (it took me a while to warm up to it), the theme of believing will get anyone in the holiday spirit. Who knew Buzz (Time Allen) and Woody (Tom Hanks) would both be Christmas favorites of mine?

4. Elf

Might actually give a A Christmas Story a run for its money when it comes to quote-ability. It’s amazing how far stupid humor with some heart can get you around Christmastime. In fact, the amount of times this is aired on TV might actually hurt its case for the top three spots on this list. I love it so much, I’m sick of it.

3. It’s a Wonderful Life

What can I say? I’m a sucker for the classics. And quite simply, this is the classic Christmas movie. James Stewart and Donna Reed in a crazy concept for it’s time. Don’t believe that “what if?” plot wasn’t influential? Just watch most TV shows Christmas special. Capra’s influence is still seen in the industry today.

2. How the Grinch Stole Christmas

This might be my most controversial choice on the list. Some love it, others hate it. For reasons I can’t explain, I love it. Unlike other attempted Dr. Suess adaptations (ahem, Cat in the Hat), this one is actually entertaining. Great soundtrack, Jim Carey’s ridiculous acting, and some great child acting make it good enough in my book for one of my all time favs.

1. A Christmas Story

You know them all: “You’ll shoot your eye out” “I can’t put my arms down!” “”Frag-ile, it’s Italian!”. A Christmas Story is the strangest most memorable movie I’ve ever had the pleasure of watching every Christmas day. Nearly every scene is hilarious and remarkable for how easy it is to remember absolutely every part. If you haven’t seen this one yet, you need to get on that immediately. Like now. Log off your computer and get going.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Review: The Santa Clause 3: The Escape Clause (2006) « Weekday Matinee

Leave a Reply

