RSS Feed

Classic Review: Seven Samurai (1954)

Posted on

I haven’t watched too many non-English speaking films, and I don’t claim to know a whole lot about this whole reviewing movies thing. I do, however know what I find as entertaining; and “Seven Samurai” can fall under that category.

The plot revolves around a village, set in the 16-Century, who is annually raided by a group of bandits. To finally fight against the bandits, the village sets out to hire a samurai to fight back against their oppressors (like A Bug’s Life!). The problem with this idea, is that they haven’t almost nothing to offer them. They must find a samurai that is not in it for any sort of reward or glory, but is still willing to risk his life. After much trying they find one samurai that will help, Kambei. He enlists the help of 5 others (and a straggler) and they head on their way to the village. And this ends the first hour of the movie.

This is my biggest problem with the movie. I don’t know if it is my modern need to be constantly entertained for every minute of the movie or what, but I felt as though it dragged at certain moments. At 207 minutes, it’s more than just a movie to pop in when bored. I know the battle scenes where incredible, but everything else seemed to drag. Which isn’t to say I didn’t enjoy it. If it were cut down just one hour, I’m sure it would end up as one of my 10 favorite movies.

The most amazing thing about Akira Kurosawa’s is how much aspects of it our reused in today’s movies. From the bandits appearing over the hill (the first time used) to the samurai teaching the villagers to defend themselves you can see how influential this movie was to today’s action movies. There isn’t a whole lot I didn’t like about the movie (putting aside the time).

Rating: A-

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Ranks: Pixar Films « Weekday Matinee

  2. Pingback: Classic Review: Ikiru (1952) « Weekday Matinee

Leave a Reply

